Stay On Course

My wife and I found an activity that we both enjoy: kayaking. We love paddling through the blogcypress trees on South Carolina’s numerous lakes. My wife brings her binoculars with her as she loves seeing the variety of birds during our exploration.

It  does not take much to “power” a kayak; they just glide through the water.  But that also causes a problem. Kayaks drift easily even in the slightest breeze. If you want to stop and look at something; you have to  constantly paddle to keep from drifting.

Hebrews 2:1 “We must pay the most careful attention, therefore, to what we have heard, so that we do not drift away.” We need to be constantly aware of the fact that drifting off course spiritually is a certainty, unless you fight to stay on course. A ship without a pilot is destined for destruction. An airline pilot must make course corrections even though the plane is on auto-pilot.

‘Come Thou Fount of Ever Blessing’ is an 18th century hymn that first bothered me when I first came gave life to Jesus Christ. In verse 4, we read these words “…Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it, Prone to leave the God I love;… In my new found joy, I resented the thought that I would ever leave the God I love.

But the reality of life is without the Holy Spirit’s constant guidance, we will all make shipwreck of our faith.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.