God is Always There

“Where can I go from your Spirit?   Where can I flee from your presence?8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;  if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.”  Psalm 139:7-8

One of the first things you learn in Sunday school is that God is present everywhere. As a child that knowledge was good and bad news. Bad news is it kept me from enjoying things that I should not have been doing in the first place. It was good news when I was in a difficult situation and needed divine intervention.

But as we grow older, I think we either forget or ignore the fact  that God is still ever-present and He sees ever deed, good or bad.  And I think that is why people are so blatant in their sinful behavior. Romans 3:17-18  There was a time when people feared God but not today?

  • Would you commit adultery if your spouse was right there?
  • Would you cheat on an exam if your teacher was standing beside you?
  • Would you steal from your employer if he was right there?
  • Would you try to rob a bank with the police in the bank lobby?

Yet, we commit sin without any regard that God IS there and He does see.

Leave a Reply

