I have spent most of my life in the church. For the last 30+ years my wife and I have given ourselves to serving the church, so to say I am concerned about the church would probably be an understatement. But let me clarify what I mean by the “church.” I am not talking about an ecclesiastical organization but rather the individuals that make up the church. The church is not a building. The church is people. “Greet also the church that meets at their house.” Romans 16:5 ; I Cor. 16:19; Col. 4:15 

Most people are confused about Christianity. They believe that what they DO makes them a Christian: following the rules, rituals, and in general being a nice guy. The truth is Christianity is not about rules but having a personal relationship with God through His Son, Jesus Christ. And that is where the “rub” comes in. If you have grown up in the church, I am sure that you have picked up how to speak Christian, how to behave as a Christian, and do all the things that is expected of being a Christian. PEOPLE HAVE LEARNED HOW TO CONFORM TO A LIFESTYLE BUT THEY HAVE NEVER BEEN TRANSFORMED BY THE HOLY SPIRIT!

In the Bible, when people had an encounter with God; they were changed. I Samuel 10:6 Jesus did not come to earth to make you a better person. He came to make you a new person.  “This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!  2 Cor. 5:17   NLT  So many people want to add Jesus to their life without subtracting their sin. Jesus is not an “add-on.” But He becomes the center of our existence.  Philippians 1:21 “For to me, living means living for Christ,...”

 

Leave a Reply

