Sippin’ Saints (?)

social drinking.jpg (270×270)For years, well-meaning, sincere Christians have debated the subject of drinking. Let me be clear by saying there isn’t a single verse in the Bible that says a Christian cannot have a drink; although the Bible clearly warns about the destructive and addictive nature of alcohol (Proverbs 20:121:1723:29-35Ephesians 5:18) and is very clear that drunkenness is always wrong (Romans 13:13Galatians 5:19-211 Peter 4:3Habakkuk 2:151 Corinthians 5:11).

Allow me to share some thoughts that you may not have considered. 

  1. No one starts out to be an alcoholic. Everyone begins with a defensive attitude saying, ‘I’m just a social drinker and there is nothing wrong with it!’ no one says, ‘It is my ambition that someday I want to lose my job, my health, my self-respect, my marriage and my family. Someday I want to be dependent on alcohol to get through my day.’ yet, this is the destination at which several millions of people have arrived.
  2. Often, what you do in moderation, your children will do in excess.  A careful reading of the Old Testament shows that the children of the kings of Israel often sinned greater than their fathers.
  3. I know that my abstaining from alcohol will not have any economic impact on the alcohol industry but that is not the issue. The issue is that I will personally (and so will you) give an account to God for my stewardship. Romans 14:12 I do not want a part in supporting an industry to destroys lives.
  4. I have yet to hear from anyone who drinks how alcohol enhances anything or blesses anyone. Max Lucado said, “One thing for sure, I have never heard anyone say, ‘A beer makes me feel more Christlike . . . Fact of the matter is this: People don’t associate beer with Christian behavior.” ’ve yet to see how it improves someone’s testimony or makes anyone a more effective witness for Christ.  1 Cor. 10:31
  5. Alcohol destroys your body. We are accountable to God how we have treated our bodies. 1 Cor. 6:19-20

I don’t judge those who believe they have freedom in Christ to drink. But when asked, I always tell people I don’t believe it’s the best choice.

The bottom line is this: the question really isn’t CAN A CHRISTIAN DRINK? Rather, it is: SHOULD A CHRISTIAN DRINK?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

