Looking Beyond The Seen

When I was young, I remember seeing a movie  that really fascinated me. It was called “The Invisible Man.” I thought how cool it would be if no oneinvisble could see me! Just think of all the mischief I could get away with! I could go wherever I wanted and no one would notice me! I could move things and people would be shocked, wondering how the object moved. I could whisper things to them and though they could hear me, they would not be able to see who was speaking to them. I could touch their arm but again they could not see who had touched them!

Yet, there there is a Person that walks among us, speaks to us, touches us, and works it our lives everyday and we are often not aware He is there! God is invisible, though we see hints of His activity all around us.  Colossians 1:15

Biblically, one of the reasons we pray is to improve our spiritual sight.So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. 2 Cor. 4:18  But how do you focus on what you don’t see? It is all a matter of focus or what you pay attention to. We end up looking like the things we focus on. When we look at Jesus, we become like Him.  “Let us keep our eyes fixed on Jesus” Hebrews 12:2  Don’t be fooled. Your heart follows your focus. Jesus basically said in Matt. 6:21 “Whatever you pay attention to, that is where your heart will be – and that is what you find yourself desiring.” 

Our attention does not follow our hearts as much as our hearts follow our attention.

 

 

One thought on “Looking Beyond The Seen

Leave a Reply

