Urgent or Important?

I did not start this morning with the purpose of making a New Year’s resolution but I could not help but reflect on how could I make this year different than last last year. Each morning I endeavor (not always successful) to begin the day with reading my Bible, prayer, and a time of reflection. I could not help but think about the coming new year and how I could make THIS year better than last’s year.

For me, it was a “no-brainer.” The biggest challenge I have faced in my life, not just last year, is understanding the difference between the urgent and what is important. Everything that seems urgent is not necessarily important. Let me explain. As a follower of Jesus Christ, my relationship with Him should be the most important thing in my life. Which means I should put Him first in every area of my life and THAT is the rub!

Every time I plan to have personal time with God, without fail the URGENT (though not necessarily important) things scream for my immediate attention. Example: As I was having my time of reflection, the thought for today’s blog came to my mind. As I made a mental note to do this later; the sense of URGENCY increased tremendously. The tyranny of the urgent was trying to pull me away from what was more important. And because I love to write this blog, it was a tremendous battle.

All that being said, I pondered how I was ever going to overcome this conflict. I believe that God gave me the solution. The question was not a matter of a New Year’s resolution but a matter of obedience to God’s Word. This year I am committing myself to obey Matthew 6:33 “But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” The key for a successful New Year is putting God first, which solves the problem of the urgent. And all the urgent things will be added to me.

Looking forward to a year of the important and not the ‘urgent.’

Leave a Reply

