Don’t Leave Home Without it

malden-ae21Years ago (?) Karl Malden (actor) made a commercial for American Express. The famous line at the end was, “Don’t leave home without it.” Catchy phrase isn’t it? The application is that you are not prepared to face life’s challenges unless you are carry an American Express Card. I believe in preparation for the day. I went to Walmart a couple of weeks ago, bought several groceries items and it was not until I reached the checkout that I discovered I did not have my wallet. [I left home without it.]

When we leave for work each morning, we mentally check off our list of things we wish to take with us: Keys,phone, briefcase, etc. May I suggest to you that we often forget THE most important thing in preparing for each day is time spent with God and time in His Word. The thought that we SHOULD spend time in spiritual preparation for the day gets placed on the ‘back burner’ with logic we will have more time when we get home. Right? Admit it!

Of course the only way to have time with God is to make it a top priority. Write it in your daily planner with a time slot if necessary. If you had an appointment with your State Governor, you would make sure you did not miss it. How much more important is your appointment with God!

O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you… – Psalm 63:1

Seek the Kingdom of God above all else…Matthew 6:33

Leave a Reply

