Word For The New Year

Have you ever thought about how many new words have been added to our lives in the last couple of years? Tweeting. Bitcoin. Fracking. Hashtag. Unfriend. (You will probably have to look up some of these,) And one of my favorites is multitasking. The word comes from the computer world meaning doing several tasks at the same time.

When I am talking with people about their spiritual journey, I often ask them to tell me about their prayer life. I hear many people tell me that they while in the shower, driving to work, mowing the lawn, doing laundry, etc. It is alright to pray while multitasking but I think it is imperative that we pray in a consistent, intentional, wholehearted way.

Angela Parlin wrote, “That’s the kind of prayer I struggle with. To put that more honestly–that’s the prayer I often don’t pray. The one where I close the door to my world, and enter the presence of God, with only God and nothing else.” I don’t think it comes naturally to most of us, to make a full stop in our lives and stay with Him a while.

I do not know about you but I struggle putting everything aside, closing the door, and entering the presence of God. I don’t think it comes naturally to most of us, to make a full stop in our lives and stay with Him a while.

We are at the beginning of a new year. Let’s commit ourselves to spend time daily, praying without multitasking.

But Jesus would often go to some place where he could be alone and pray. Luke 5:16

Leave a Reply

