My Stuff?

Recently my wife and I finally found time to go through my clothes closet and sorted out clothes I no longer wore. It was really enlightening. My wife, who has a much better memory than me, pointed out shirts that I have had for over 10 years! (Is that a record?) Needless to say, I have a lot more room in my closet.There are now more than 30,000 self-storage facilities in our country with a billion square feet to store their stuff. We now spend $12 billion a year to someone to store our stuff! I know it is hard to give our stuff away. Have you ever watched the TV program Hoarderslinda-livingroom-before

It is about people who accumulate so much stuff that it is ruining their health and relationship with their family.  There are even therapists that specialize in treaty people with this problem.

Jesus said, Stuff is not treasure. Stuff is temporary; treasure is eternal.

Stuff cannot belong to me. The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it, the world, and all who live in it;…The silver is mine and the gold is mine,’ declares the Lord Almighty…remember the Lord your God, for it is he who gives you the ability to produce wealth. 

Stuff cannot last. When you play Monopoly it doesn’t matter if you win. At the end of the game, everything goes back in the box.

“God prospers me not to raise my standard of living, but to raise my standard of giving.” – Randy Alcorn

Leave a Reply

