Cant We Just Get Along?

Often while sitting at a traffic light, I will read the bumper sticker of those around me. I saw one that got me thinking. It appears they are asking me to be tolerant of another person’s religious choice.coexist While I totally agree with freedom of choice, I don’t believe that it is possible to ‘coexist’ due the vast difference in their world-point-of view. They are asking us to accept that all religions are a legitimate way to heaven. They believe that if you do not accept their religion, then you are bigoted.

No one should be hateful, unkind, or prejudiced because of that person’s religious faith. But being tolerant does not mean accepting. All faiths do not go to heaven. It is not a matter of sincerity. I can be sincere in my belief that the law of gravity does not exist but if I jump off a cliff I will fall.

The war against radical Islamic extremist is not a political battle it is war of religious ideologies. Their religion says that all ‘heathens’ should be executed. (So much for coexistence.) The Christian faith is one of intolerance due to the fact that we believe that the Word of God teaches that Jesus Christ is the only way to heaven. Jesus Himself said:

No one can come to the Father but through Him
He is the only One who can forgive our sins

The main thing that separates Christianity from all others is what they believe concerning Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

