Lost?

Have you ever been lost? Men, I am not talking about being “directionally challenged”, but really lost. Years ago, I was hunting white-tail deer in northwestern Pennsylvania. It was an area that was ‘fairly familiar” with from my childhood but to play it safe, I stayed on the road. The unpaved road was closed to all traffic, except to the Game Commission and it went through some very dense forest.

As I walked, I saw in the distance, several deer crossing the road heading for higher ground. At that distance I could not tell if any possessed antlers for which I had a license. When I reached the area where they crossed, I stopped and to my amazement, I saw them standing, looking at me. But I could not get a good look at them due to the dense under brush and failing light. I had a decision to make; should I continue “stalking” them or call it a day and go back to my car?  If I followed them, it would be through an area I was totally unfamiliar with. I decided I would follow them a short distance but I never caught up with them.

Realizing that the temperature was dropping fast and the sun was setting, I needed to get back to my car. When I finally reached the road, I was uncertain [lost] if I should good right or left. If I made the wrong choice, I was in for a LONG walk and no car. Though I was not in any danger of freezing to death, I did not like the idea of spending most of the night in the woods.So I prayed and asked the Lord to give me direction and He did.

The Bible tells us that people who do not have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ are “lost.” The Bible tells that ALL men were lost. Psalm 119:176, Isaiah 53:6. I am thoroughly convinced that man’s fear and insecurity are based on their feelings of being lost.

Jesus said, “For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.”

Leave a Reply

