Are You Ready?

The Boy Scout’s Motto is Be Prepared. Since I never was a Boy Scout, I am not sure what I am supposed to be prepared for. Being prepared for the unexpected could be never racking. Be prepared for…an earthquake? fire? Collision with a comet? Alien invasion?  A visit from your “favorite” relative? And of course the best preparation advice from your mom, “Always wear clean underwear in case you have an accident and have to go to the hospital.”  Not sure about the logic behind that advice.

But being prepared is not bad advice. Several times in the Bible it tells us we should be prepared. These verses immediately come to my mind:

  • Amos 4:12 “…Prepare to meet your God...” I must have heard hundreds of sermons by evangelists trying to scare me into forsaking my sins before God called me into account for my sinful behavior. I am NOT saying they were wrong. We DO need to prepare to face God but preparation to “meet God” goes a lot further than judgement.

a] I think we would be amiss by not meeting with God in preparation for our day. Daily time with God is time well spent.

b] Sunday morning worship would be more meaningful, if we only took time to prepare to meet Him.

  • 1 Peter 3:15 “…Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have… This does not mean you have to be a walking Bible Commentary with ALL the answers but to be ready to tell why your relationship with Jesus Christ gives you hope and makes a difference in your life?

ARE YOU PREPARED?

Leave a Reply

