I Don’t Do Windows!

Last weekend my wife and I decided we had put off cleaning our exterior windows long enough. The reason we hadn’t cleaned them sooner was the fact our house doesn’t have those modern double-hung windows. Oh no, we have OLD, wooden, painted windows. The previous owner(s) had put “ample” paint on them insuring that no one without God’s help would ever raise those windows again.

But with the Lord’s help we did get them open! We decided that assigning tasks would be the best way to attack this task. Sherry took the inside and I took the outside. [I never figured how she got to do the inside where it was air-conditioned.] And this is where the conflict began.

I will be the first to confess that I did not take window-cleaning 101 in college but I thought I was doing a rather good job! As I stepped back admiring my work, my wife (who has a degree in cleanliness) dutifully pointed out a place I had overlooked! No problem, I went back and cleaned it. But then, she saw another place and another place, and so on. At first I thought, what’s the big deal? They are so small! To be fair, she did not point these “faults” with a critical spirit but she was only  interested in “perfectly” clean windows. Still my frustration level was increasing.

The question is should we point out other people’s faults? As Christ followers, we have a duty to speak to those who have erred in the faith. But we should do it in a spirit of love with the purpose of helping. Ephesians 4:2; 4:15. So the next time someone tries to help you by pointing out a hidden “fault”, don’t be angry, be thankful.

You can trust what your friend says, even when it hurts Proverbs 27:6 ERV

Brothers and sisters, if a person gets trapped by wrongdoing, those of you who are spiritual should help that person turn away from doing wrong. Do it in a gentle way. Galatians 6:1

Leave a Reply

