Balance

One of the the most useful bits of knowledge I have gleaned from life is the importance of balance. There must be balance between work and family. There must be balance between studies and recreation. Chapter three of Ecclesiastes is all about balance. “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens..” Verses 1 

One of the keys to a fulfilled life is not only knowing which season of life you are in but also accepting that it. I went to the doctor today and he reminded me that my body is aging and I cannot expect it to respond like it did when I was forty. It is a fact that I have to accept and live with it.

Balance sometimes means understanding that not all wrongs will be made right immediately. King David learned this fact. In Psalm 73 he struggled with the prosperity of the wicked. He lamented the fact that there seemed there was no punishment for their wickedness. But God gave him understanding [balance] in verse 17 “Only when I came into God’s holy place did I finally understand what would happen to them.” 

God is a God of balance. He will right wrongs and bring justice. God is in control and He never makes a mistake! “…Shall not the Judge of all the earth do right? Genesis 18:25

Leave a Reply

