Empty Quiver? Empty Nest?

Children are a gift from the Lord; they are a reward from him. Children born to a young man are like arrows in a warrior’s hands. How joyful is the man whose quiver is full of them! Psalm 127:3-5

One of the greatest joys of our lives  having children! Oh, we had some wonderful experiences. One of the hardest things my wife and I did was send our kids off to college. The day my son left and I was driving home, I had to pull to side of the road because I could not see for tears. Many of you have experienced that bitter-sweet moment. No matter how much joy  our children bring us, there is a time to let go.

The Bible uses the analogy of arrows representing our children and rightly so. For an arrow to accomplish the purpose for which it was created, it must be released. It must leave the quiver and bow towards its intended target. We must remember we are not raising children but we are raising future adults. Do not wait until they are 15 or 16 years-old to start to instill in them  the principles and character you wish to see them possess in adulthood.

My wife and I have now reached that time when we are seeing our grandchildren leave the nest (quiver). Our granddaughter, Kimberly, left this week for college.kim grad 2 I miss her already! Her parents have done an excellent job in raising her. I see qualities in her that many adults do not posses.

So parents, if you have not reached this moment, start preparing now. And but lots of tissues, you will need them.

Leave a Reply

